The Ultimate Souvenir: Create Apparel from Vacation Photos with MyWear®

I’m currently writing this on my phone, somewhere between Taichung and Taoyaun. I tagged along on my husband’s business trip to Taiwan this week, and as I ride the high speed rail back to the airport, and on the way back to my home in Oregon, I can’t help but feel nostalgic already.

Taiwan was beautiful, with vivid tastes and sounds, and a culture rich in tradition. It would be difficult to communicate the feelings that come about when stepping into one of the striking temples filled with ornate statues and the scent of incense. Similarly hard to capture is the sensation of walking up the steps of an old Taiwanese mansion and feeling the warm breeze as you hold a railing that’s been touched by countless people before you, dating back to before the industrial revolution.

I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to showcase just how personal you can make a LaunchMyWear piece. Not only are you given the opportunity to personalize your fabric or customize your size, you’re able to create a truly one-of-a-kind piece from experiences, just as you want to remember them.

Taiwanese flowersAs I mentioned, I was really taken with the temples and an old mansion we visited Lu Kang. The architectural details and fabrics were so beautiful, and so different than anything I see regularly in the States. I would point at a gorgeous hand-carved wood plank or embroidered sash and exclaim to my husband, “If we were independently wealthy, I’d want to do this in our house!” or “I WISH they still made fabric like that!”.

wall Taiwan launchmywear design

Then, I realized: I work for the best custom clothing company ever. What am I doing? I can make a dress inspired by my trip… I can even make a shirt using the actual photos from Taiwan! So, that is exactly what I did! Using a process similarly to the one here, I was able to take the photos of stunning, priceless antiques and artifacts and turn them into the perfect custom pieces to remember my trip by!

First, I created a print using the flowers featured on one of the goddess’ robes in the temple. I updated it with a clean background.

taiwan flower launchmywear blog-

For my second design, I used the tiles from the mansion to create a trim and extended the holes in the tiles upwards to create polka dots.

taiwan wall

And there you have it! Two distinctly personal tank tops from my trip… without the hassle of stuffing souvenirs in my luggage, made possible with LaunchMyWear!

launchmywear tanktop designs

One Comment

Leave a Reply

